Reading Room

/ Categories: Workers' Compensation

Sweeping Changes to NJ Workers’ Compensation Proposed

 The recently published report from Gov. Pat Murphy's transition team calls for sweeping reforms of the state's workers' compensation system. Over the past twelve months both the NJ State Bar Association as well as observers have requested that changes be made to improve efficiency and eliminate delay.

The Report of the Labor and Workforce Development Transition Advisory CommitteeSubmitted to Governor-elect Phil Murphy and Lieutenant Governor-elect Sheila Oliver contains sweeping changes to the NJ Workers’ Compensation system. They include ramping up the agency with qualified judges, eliminate delays and endless adjournments, and assist workers to return to work.


Improve the Workers’ Compensation system New Jersey’s Workers’ Compensation system is an integral part of ensuring that our workforce is adequately protected in cases of temporary and long-term work-related injuries. 

This committee recommends that the new Administration place a focus on making the system work more efficiently by appointing an appropriate number of highly-qualified Workers’ Compensation judges who can ensure workers receive fair and timely benefits. 

Rigorous criteria requiring familiarity with the system and trial experience should be adopted. 

This Administration should also explore reforms to the system aimed at making cases move more efficiently, including the uniform application across courts of scheduling rules, and striving to reduce postponements and 14 delays. 

In addition, New Jersey should explore “stay at work/return to work” strategies that have been shown to help increase the odds of injured employees returning to employment."
Co-Chairs: Kevin Brown Lizette Delgado Maria Heidkamp Greg Lalevee Dr. James H. Moore, Jr. Hetty Rosenstein Nelida Valentin Deputy Policy Director: Francisco Maldonado Committee Members: Jim Appleton; Robert Asaro-Angelo; Reverend Steffie Bartley; Amina Bey; Dennis Bone; Wesley Bridges; Bryan Bush; Sue Cleary; Michael Cranston; Marilyn Davis; Tom DeBartolo; Debra DiLorenzo; Joe DeMark; Vinny DeVito; John Duthie; Chris Estevez; June Forrest; Dr. Mary Gatta; Vince Giblin; Dan Gumble; Ayesha Hamilton; Lynne P. Kramer; Vinny Lane; Kendra Lee; Reverend Eric McCoy; Tennille McCoy; Bob McDevitt; Tammy Molinelli; Bill Mullen; Al Rispoli; Paulette Sibblies-Flagg; Chris Slevin; Tiffany Smith; William Sproule.
Previous Article Can the Workers’ Compensation System be Vaccinated Against Influenza?
Next Article Beryllium Exposure Standard Enforcement Delayed Until May 2018